1. In 2016, ‘yoga’ was one of the most searched words on Google in the UK.
  2. Some Christians churches are opposed to the practice of yoga as it can create spiritual confusion.
  3. Lenovo named a tablet ‘yoga’ due to its flexibility.
  4. Morning is the best time to practice yoga.
  5. Nouf Marwai contributed to the legalization of yoga in Saudi Arabia.
  6. According to ancient yogis, we are born with a limited number of breaths.
  7. Gaim, Manduka, Hugger Mugger, Jade Yoga and Lululemon are the top five equipment brand used in yoga studios.
  8. Yogis are often vegetarian since they practice ahimsa, non-violence.
  9. In San Diego at the Rady Children’s Hospital, oncology patients and their families practice yoga.
  10. Ayurveda is a healing system for the entire body complementary to yoga and meditation.
  11. During a Thai yoga massage session, the therapist guides the client into various yoga poses while applying deep muscle compression.

__________________________________________________________________________________

References:

Bridgid Delaney. 2017. The Guardian. https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2017/sep/17/yoga-better-person-lifestyle-exercise

CBS News. 2010. https://www.cbsnews.com/news/southern-baptist-leader-yoga-isnt-christian/

Brett Nuckles. 2014. Business News Daily. https://www.businessnewsdaily.com/7494-lenovo-yoga-3-pro-laptop-business.html

Cyndi Lee. 2007. Yoga Journal. https://www.yogajournal.com/practice/finding-the-best-time-to-practice

The Economic Times. 2017. https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/magazines/panache/meet-nouf-marwaai-the-woman-behind-yoga-becoming-no-more-a-deviant-behaviour-in-saudi-arabia/articleshow/61655093.cms

Culturama. https://culturama.in/2017/07/31/dont-waste-your-breath/

Yoga Alliance and Yoga Journal 2016 Survey. https://www.yogaalliance.org/Portals/0/2016%20Yoga%20in%20America%20Study%20RESULTS.pdf

Leah Sugerman. Do you yoga. https://www.doyouyoga.com/ask-a-yogi-whats-the-link-between-yoga-and-vegetarianism-80071/

Lindsay Tucker. 2019. Yoga Journal. https://www.yogajournal.com/lifestyle/yoga-is-helping-kids-with-cancer

Planet Ayurveda. https://www.planetayurveda.com/yoga-and-meditation-in-ayurveda/

Lotus Palm. http://www.lotuspalm.com/thai-massage/

 

X